52 Weeks of Family French

Bonjour tout le monde!

I want to introduce you to a book that I recently purchased on Amazon, called 52 Weeks of Family French. I’m excited to share it with you and to try it at home with my daughters. We listen to French music (both childrens and contemporary) in the car and read French culture books in English and French, but admittedly we speak inconsistently in French.

Yes, I say bonne nuit and beaux rêves (good night and sweet dreams) to the girls. When I want to get them out the door, I say allez-y (let’s go!).

They know basic phrases, such as je m’appelle (my name is), but I haven’t worked systematically yet or embedded the language daily.

It’s my goal to up the ante this year at home, and in sharing this with you, maybe inspire you to do the same.

The book follow an auditory and oral learning model. There’s no grammar and no vocabulary drills here. It’s a natural way to learn a language. The book contains 52 small, achievable lessons that you can do at home with your child (even if you don’t speak French yet!).

The lessons are short and simple and can get you and your family to speak French in the moments you are together: mealtimes, morning “rush hour,” carpools, and bedtime. If you’re unsure about the pronunciation, your child will be eager to teach you and if that doesn’t do the trick, check out this site.

The first week focuses on Manners and using six French words daily: oui (yes), non (no), s’il vous plaît (please), merci (thanks), merci beaucoup (thank you very much) and de rien (you’re welcome). Practice the words when you’re together and if you’d like an intro to greetings, check out this Muzzy video.

What do you think? Want to give it a go?

Please share with me if you do and if you have any questions, please reach out and I’d love to help answer them.

Bisous,

Miss Madame

Leave a comment